Posted by: slcsln2010 | October 17, 2010

So here I start….again

And this is not the first time I say it, nor will it be the last.  I had my daughter’s first birthday party this weekend and it was a huge success.  I honestly don’t see how anything could have gone wrong.  Granted I kept beating myself up for the leaky toilet I had caused, but it turned out to be a fortuitous situation.  I am very appreciative of the family I married into.  I truly am one of the lucky ones.  Anyways, the meal was very filling and still more on the healthy side… Sautéed Green Bean with almond slivers (sautéed in  olive oil non-stick spray), oven “fried” chicken (mustard for the wet coating and Japanese bread crumbs for the breading), and whole wheat pasta in Italian seasoned sauce (plain tomato sauce with my own blend of herbs and spices, no salt, and 1 packet of splenda).  No extra bread, butter or other sauces.  Of course there was birthday cake.  It was from a box, but I used the no cholesterol recipe.  The frosting was homemade so though it had butter, fat, sugar, and coloring, I knew that was all that was in it.

This morning we did breakfast at the local country club’s restaurant.  It was a buffet..it wasn’t as bad as it could have been.  I had 3 sausage patties, 1 cup (more than I should have had) of blackberry cobbler and 2 hashbrown triangles.  I passed on the bacon, the biscuits and the sausage gravy.  I also shared some of my meal with my daughter, but not enough to really make a difference.  And Yes!!, I made a 2nd trip.  I added a chicken drumstick and thigh as well as about 1/4 cup of corn casserole.  Did I mention that I ate cake when I first woke up this morning?  Again, shared with the baby.  I am still trying to get her to eat more of the better things for her but she is very resistant.  For dinner I had 1/2 cup of cottage cheese and a pasta/hamburger mixture with bbq sauce.  For my snack I had 1 sheet of graham crackers.  Not bad.  I also had play time with my daughter.  She loves it.  So do I.  Am I worried that I have completely blown my diet?  Wait a minute!!! I am NOT on a diet.  I am changing my diet.  Diet means the food and drink consumed.  I am NOT dieting.  I am learning and implementing a healthier lifestyle.  So NO..I did NOT blow my diet.  I did change my diet by not filling my plate to overflowing more than 1 time at the buffet.  I did not snack constantly like I used to do.  It is not an overnight process. I didn’t gain the weight overnight, though sometimes it seems like I did, it is not going to come off overnight.  ONWARD!!!

Responses

  1. As Garfield once said…”Diet is DIE with a T.” LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

