Posted by: slcsln2010 | October 13, 2010

History Pt. 1

A little bit of history about myself.  I started getting a little on the fluffy side when I was 5 yrs old.  I really started putting on weight when I was in the 3rd grade.  The taunts started getting worse in 6th grade and by then, I didn’t know what to do.  The reasons behind the weight gain are varied.  I think the fact that we had a “clean plate” policy in our house as well as the “hurry up and finish.”  I was never taught what foods were the right foods to eat as we were a family with both parents working and heavily relied on processed quick foods to feed the group.  We also had a tendency to overeat, especially if it was something special.  I never really understood how I gained the weight as I was a child that liked to go out and play, ride my bike, run around, etc.  I was part of the school lunch program.  Do I really need to explain that one?  It doesn’t seem to have changed in the 15 years since leaving public school.  There were other reasons mixed in including moving to a new state, the deaths of 2 siblings, one right after the other, and an abusive (more psychological than anything else) dad.  Just to clarify, I did get paddled, but I know I deserved some of what I got for misbehaving.  To aid in the battle of the bulge, I even joined Weight Watchers with my mom when I was 10.  All of this was before I was 21.  The reason I say 21 versus 18 is that in my house at the time, everything had to go through dad.   Even though I was working and going to school (high school and college), I still had to ask to do something outside of the house as well as make sure that my siblings were cared for.  I bought some of my own groceries with money from my part time job, but I was also paying for school (personal bank loan not financial aid), car (payment, gas, repairs), clothing for work, and entertainment (what little I had).  My mom didn’t like the fact that I was buying my own groceries, but she was working 3 jobs at the time so she wasn’t home so she didn’t have much say in the matter.    When I turned 21 that started the next long chapter of my life.

Leave a Reply

Categories

